Cultural Assessment for 2015

Hello Culture Nuts!

Yes, it has been a long time since my last post and I am late with my cultural review for 2015 … please forgive me, I offer the lamest of excuses- I have been really busy.  I finished a ghost writing project (only 2.5 years of work), and started writing some content for a local University’s many publications while holding down a few other jobs and being a single mom.

OK. Enough. We are all busy, I know.

Even though I barely blogged a word last year, I did get a handle on a considerable amount of culture and this year is proving to be just as fabulous so far.  So here is the Culture Maven’s summary of cultural experiences based on the ticket stubs I saved last year.  Of course I attended first Fridays ( local gallery walk in Charlottesville) a few times, hung out at some cool events at the IX Art Park and spent many hours at Monticello, the home of Thomas Jefferson which is right by my house and were I work part time as a guide- but none of those things had ticket stubs.

So here it is:

Last year I attended:

1 film premier (Cheatin’)

1 television show premier (Mercy Street)

visited one historic home that was not Monticello (Montpelier)

1 classical concert (Behzod Abduraimov)

4 regular films -in a real movie theater (fav: Me and Earl and The Dying Girl)

1 MET opera -on screen at a local movie theater (Madoma Butterfly)

3 National Theater Performances -on screen at a movie theater (fav: Coriolanus – AMAZING!!!)

6 museum exhibitions (fav: Rodin at VMFA)

17 plays – live (fav: Patrick Earl as Hamlet at American Shakespeare Center)

I have already seen some great exhibits and plays this year including, Bad Jews at Studio Theatre in DC and The Other Place at Live Arts here in Charlottesville so 2016 is looking like an extra culture-full year.

So I am offering up this challenge- arts and culture journalists excluded- see if you can top me this year.

All best and belated Happy New Year!

The Culture Maven

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

